No I’m not accusing you of being a bigot or a racist, I’m asking why that’s the retort.

“As I prepare to take on the even more important role of citizen, know that I will be there with you every step of the way to ensure that this country forever strives to live up to the incredible promise of our founding — that all of us are created equal, and all of us deserve every chance to live out our dreams.”

To me the above should not be controversial or twisted into a negative.  It seems to fit with US History.

“We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.”

Those words from the Declaration of Independence roll off the tongues of many, but do we even feign adherence to the sentiment penned in the year 1776 today?

Many people today announce loudly that people should be responsible for they themselves and their own actions.  Yet the criteria seem to morph depending upon who wants and sadly needs assistance.

People quote from the Holy Bible such as Luke 6:37, “Judge not, and ye shall not be judged: condemn not, and ye shall not be condemned: forgive, and ye shall be forgiven:” (KJV) or Matthew 7:1, “Judge not, that ye be not judged” (KJV) among many other lines of scripture.

Yet again the interpretations of judging are often contingent upon who, and scripture is quoted in attempts to justify.

Recently I heard a retort that Jesus judged such as in Matthew 7:5, “Thou hypocrite, first cast out the beam out of thine own eye; and then shalt thou see clearly to cast out the mote out of thy brother’s eye” (KJV).  It wasn’t as if the person conflated themselves as Jesus.  They defended their judging by citing 1 Corinthians 2:15, “But he that is spiritual judgeth all things, yet he himself is judged of no man” (KJV).  They opined that whether one uses the word “judgeth,” “discern(s),” “evaluates,” “appraises,” or another, that root rests in “investigate” and they cite the prior verse, 1 Corinthians 2:14, “But the natural man receiveth not the things of the Spirit of God: for they are foolishness unto him: neither can he know them, because they are spiritually discerned” (KJV) as their “proof.”

I, myself, am not a Biblical scholar, and do not have any qualifications to suggest otherwise.  I read, and I discuss with others, but I do not have the knowledge to teach Biblical topics through words.

I do, however, teach history in college classrooms.  History is a broad field.  I may teach World History courses, but I can only offer the rudimentary about regions such as Latin America.  It’s the same with other regions, but with some I do have bibliographic resources that I can provide before seeking assistance of a peer who specializes in that particular area.

Even within my areas of expertise, I’m being forthright when I state that I know enough to realize how little I know of what can be known.  That is not a criticism of self but an acknowledgment of how vast that a smidge of information can span.

While not an observation from the traditional study of history sense, my mentor remarked that some of my applications of US Political and Southern History to some current legislative analyses were too erudite for his mind.  Of course one wonders if it is possible to be too erudite to another who understands the term “erudite” especially when they themselves are sage.

Think about it:

“We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.”

It sounds magical, magnificent, but if one reads further into the Declaration there is the passage: “He has excited domestic insurrections amongst us, and has endeavoured to bring on the inhabitants of our frontiers, the merciless Indian Savages whose known rule of warfare, is an undistinguished destruction of all ages, sexes and conditions.”

I’m not addressing the argument as to whether or not one believes that “men” includes “women” as well, but it’s evident that the Native American Indian is neither man nor woman but a merciless savage.  Even foreign immigrants had the rights of “men.”  “He has endeavoured to prevent the population of these States; for that purpose obstructing the Laws for Naturalization of Foreigners; refusing to pass others to encourage their migrations hither, and raising the conditions of new Appropriations of Lands.”

Was it ever the case in the history of the United States where the concept of all men and all women were created equal?

Having been born as a Caucasian male in the United States it is easy for me to assert that opportunity exists for all.  Born and reared in rural areas, I worked.  With my background, I’ve needed to overcome some perceptions about my abilities professionally due to stereotypes.

I’ve never been wealthy, but that is not a result of a lack of work effort.  Part of the reason is chosen profession, but another is a decision to not skew my assessments for a pre-conceived purpose.  I believe that people have the right to think and to look differently than I do.  They have that right, but I also want people to look and to think differently than me.  At times the challenging of preconceptions does not play well when the desire is for the research and analyses to “prove” the predetermined status.

To some my decision to not give only what is wanted is foolish, but I ask if everything were the same, would it be possible to distinguish great from average; the spectacular from the humdrum; special from ordinary…?

We’ve come a long way in the United States, but we still have quite a trek still in front of us.  Some things are better; some are worse; and others have no discernable movement.  I’m not sure if that observation ever changes.

I reckon that so much depends upon who is looking and who is being looked upon.

In a rational and reasonable world, I would hope that we could all agree that the following was positive:

“As I prepare to take on the even more important role of citizen, know that I will be there with you every step of the way to ensure that this country forever strives to live up to the incredible promise of our founding — that all of us are created equal, and all of us deserve every chance to live out our dreams.”

From that I read that “We the People” have responsibilities as citizens of the United States of America.  Our ancestry and the reasons and means of their setting foot upon this soil differ.  We were never perfect, and we will never be perfect for we are human beings and not machines with a single purpose.  We are a country and not a utopia.  Yet we all deserve every chance to live out our dreams.  Some opportunities are given; others are earned; but all of us deserve a chance…

Unfortunately to many that statement above is perceived as negative.  It is regarded as a threat.

Why, is because the statement came from President Barack Obama.

No I’m not accusing anyone who believes that statement to be negative as a racist or a bigot.  No, I’m not suggesting that you do not have your right to your own opinion.

I’m asking why is the above statement negative?  I’m asking why it is perceived as “I Won’t Leave on Jan 20?”

I’m asking what you experienced on that road behind that I did not and what you see on that road ahead that I do not?  I’ve heard from the bigots and the racists.  I’ve heard from people who claim to have the ability to see into the heart and soul of another.  I’ve heard from some who cite things that never happened or hark upon the “what ifs.”

I’m not calling names.  I’m not generalizing about the Left or the Right.  I’m asking the pundits, talking heads, commenters, media personalities, Blaze, Breitbart, and so on, what more do you expect?  What more do you want?

Please correct me if I’m mistaken, but it seems like you want the clock to turn back 8 years in time.  I do not remember 2007-2008 as perfect, but to some people at least all problems seem to have begun in the 8 years following that utopia they believe existed.  You’ve become rich and famous just from being able to focus on negatives, and never being tasked with fixing what you say is broken.

Again, I’ve heard from the bigots and the racists, but I want to know why the others continue.  Why is it always the fault of another?  Why is it the responsibility of others but not of ourselves?

That seems to be the message that I hear from those who continue to bash and to criticize.

Is it you and I responsible or is it the Fates whether Left, Right, the Road Ahead, or the Road Behind?

 

The Road Ahead or The Road Behind
by George Joseph Moriarty

Sometimes I think the Fates must
Grin as we denounce and insist
The only reason we can’t win
Is the Fates themselves that miss

Yet there lives on an ancient claim
We win or lose within ourselves
The shining trophies on our shelves
Can never win tomorrow’s game
You and I know deeper down
There’s always a chance to win the crown

But when we fail to give our best
We simply haven’t met the test
Of giving all, and saving none
Until the game is really won

Of showing what is meant by grit
Of fighting on when others quit
Of playing through, not letting up
It’s bearing down that wins the cup
Of taking it and taking more
Until we gain the winning score

Of dreaming there’s a goal ahead
Of hoping when our dreams are dead
Of praying when our hopes have fled
Yet losing, not afraid to fall
If bravely, we have given all

For who can ask more of a man
Than giving all within his span
Giving all, it seems to me
Is not so far from victory

And so the Fates are seldom wrong
No matter how they twist and wind
It is you and I who make our fates
We open up or close the gates
On the road ahead or the road behind.

