A Message For Congress

Written 4 years ago and perhaps more applicable and relevant today. The names may have changed, but has anything else?

LAB Louisiana Boy

Average wealth of Members of Congress Average wealth of Members of the United States Senate and Members of the House of Representatives. Graph and data credit: Center for Responsive Politics

“I, (name of Member), do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same; that I take this obligation freely, without any mental reservation or purpose of evasion; and that I will well and faithfully discharge the duties of the office on which I am about to enter. So help me God” (5 U.S.C. §3331).

Who is represented?

With all due respect to the Honorable Members of the House of Representatives and to the Honorable Senators of the United States of America, your oath of office does not include a caveat of supporting, defending, bearing faith and allegiance to a particular political…

View original post 1,759 more words

