The Unprecedented Attack against Donald Trump

Trump Twitter 2WHAT IS WRITTEN BELOW IS REGARDED AS A VICIOUS ATTACK:

“Our thoughts and prayers are with our veterans and those who serve today. Tonight we are honored to stand here as parents of Capt. Humayun Khan and as patriotic American Muslims with undivided loyalty to our country.

Like many immigrants, we came to this country empty-handed. We believed in American democracy — that with hard work and the goodness of this country, we could share in and contribute to its blessings.

We were blessed to raise our three sons in a nation where they were free to be themselves and follow their dreams. Our son, Humayun, had dreams of being a military lawyer. But he put those dreams aside the day he sacrificed his life to save the lives of his fellow soldiers.

Hillary Clinton was right when she called my son “the best of America.” If it was up to Donald Trump, he never would have been in America.

Donald Trump consistently smears the character of Muslims. He disrespects other minorities, women, judges, even his own party leadership. He vows to build walls and ban us from this country.

Donald Trump, you are asking Americans to trust you with our future. Let me ask you: Have you even read the U.S. Constitution? I will gladly lend you my copy. In this document, look for the words “liberty” and “equal protection of law.”

Have you ever been to Arlington Cemetery? Go look at the graves of the brave patriots who died defending America — you will see all faiths, genders, and ethnicities. You have sacrificed nothing and no one.

We can’t solve our problems by building walls and sowing division. We are Stronger Together. And we will keep getting stronger when Hillary Clinton becomes our next President.”  ~Kazir Khan

Below are links to ABC, the Independent from the UK, and Philly Voice for comparisons.

HERE IS ANOTHER  DONALD J. TRUMP’S REACTION:

Trump Twitter 2

SINCE NOBODY SEEMS TO DOUBT THAT CAPTAIN HUMAYUN KHAN DIED IN IRAQ ON 8 JUNE 2004, WAS AWARDED THE PURPLE HEART AND BRONZE STAR POSTHUMOUSLY, AND IS BURIED AT ARLINGTON, WHAT’S LEFT OF THE VICIOUS ATTACK?

1) The preface to story, albeit at times enhanced or humbled, an immigrant living the proverbial American Dream?

2) An endorsement of Hillary Clinton which one would expect since party conventions are intended to promote both party and candidate?

3) Questions asking if Mr. Trump had read the US Constitution or visited Arlington?

4) A statement about Donald Trump’s immigration plans, comments toward Muslims, and assessments of how Mr. Trump treats other groups?

Well number 1 is not unique and given the nature of the occasion lacks in details.  I have hundreds of hours of oral history interviews of immigrants from an array of countries who came to the US at different times and for different reasons about the American Dream.  Many more are etched in my memory from Hungarians where I lived in Louisiana, Italians in nearby in Independence and Tickfaw in Tangipahoa Parish, Cajuns, and depending upon the generation of the individual someone who knew only Formosa, knew Formosa and Taiwan, or Taiwan for their entire life.

I reckon that number 2 could be a threat, but it is a convention and one should not expect speakers to offer glowing endorsements of candidates from the opposing parties.

Number 3 are just questions which I suppose could be construed as unfair or an attack.  Now I have no proof as to whether or not Donald Trump has read the Constitution, but whether a non-important misspeak or meant as some type of joke, he apparently did make a reference to Article XII before Congressional Republicans.

Likewise, I have no way of knowing if he has been to Arlington, but I can say that each time I’m there something different just sinks in.  My most recent visit was a few months back when I had some time following a meeting in Virginia.  When I got to the Metro station, I asked myself if I should go home, go to the Hill, people watch on the National Mall, or spend a few hours at Arlington.  I chose Arlington and in walking toward the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier, I found myself sitting on the benches near Joe Louis’s resting place and just listening to a number of tour guides leading multiple student groups.  It is a humbling place, and the array of markers and the diversity of those buried from the oldest graves to the most recent gives one pause.

Whether or not Mr. Trump, Mr. or Mrs. Khan, Mrs. Pat Smith, or anyone has sacrificed depends upon one’s definition of sacrifice.  In terms of death, the Khans and Mrs. Smith buried sons.  While I was a teenager I saw my Grandparents and felt their sorrow in burying their daughter, my Mom.  Semantics about sacrifice or loss aren’t that important to me because Mr. and Mrs. Khan have the right to grieve as does Mrs. Smith.  That’s a personal process.  I do not know if Mr. Trump has had a child pass away, and I haven’t so I don’t know how I would respond.  I watched the heartache of my Dad burying my Mom, and I have friends who have buried spouses.  I’ve buried family and friends, and I certain Mr. Trump has as well.  Grief and loss are there.  Circumstances do not really matter because even if one can take comfort or feel pride or respect for the way the individual died, that loss is still a personal battle that I do not wish upon anyone.

Are the criticisms of the Mr. and Mrs. Khan because of number 4?  Is this the personal attack?

Let’s allow Mr. Trump to respond.

Actually he issued a statement on 7 December 2015, yes last year, that addressed number 4. 

DONALD J. TRUMP STATEMENT ON PREVENTING MUSLIM IMMIGRATION

(New York, NY) December 7th, 2015, — Donald J. Trump is calling for a total and complete shutdown of Muslims entering the United States until our country’s representatives can figure out what is going on. According to Pew Research, among others, there is great hatred towards Americans by large segments of the Muslim population. Most recently, a poll from the Center for Security Policy released data showing “25% of those polled agreed that violence against Americans here in the United States is justified as a part of the global jihad” and 51% of those polled, “agreed that Muslims in America should have the choice of being governed according to Shariah.” Shariah authorizes such atrocities as murder against non-believers who won’t convert, beheadings and more unthinkable acts that pose great harm to Americans, especially women.

Mr. Trump stated, “Without looking at the various polling data, it is obvious to anybody the hatred is beyond comprehension. Where this hatred comes from and why we will have to determine. Until we are able to determine and understand this problem and the dangerous threat it poses, our country cannot be the victims of horrendous attacks by people that believe only in Jihad, and have no sense of reason or respect for human life. If I win the election for President, we are going to Make America Great Again.” – Donald J. Trump

Videos of Mr. Trump reading and clarifying his statement from The Guardian and CNN.  Please refer to your preferred media sources if you feel these videos are not legitimate.

Per his press release last year, if Mr. Trump’s ban on immigration had been in place when the Khan family came the United States, our doors would have been shut with a sign affixed reading “Not accepting any Muslims until further notice.”

My personal thought is just how thin skinned are Mr. Trump and his supporters to blow this molehill into such a mountain?

This isn’t even sticks and stones, and if these words hurt I wonder what he might expect as President?

I wonder if how the supporters and justifiers of the criticism and disparaging of the Khans would respond if the same feelings were directed toward them.  Yes I know that so many people believe that we are already suppressed, oppressed, discriminated against, and perhaps even given unfriendly looks.  We talk about how bullying is wrong, but why do attitudes change according to who is on the receiving end?

What if we had to walk in the shoes of another?

What if the inanimate harmless objects that our imaginations transform into the most dangerous and deadliest forms known to humankind actually had just a bit of danger or animation at the beginning?  Would we cry wolf?

I reckon a number of folks would be soiling their britches and crying like newborn infants.

