True Beauty and Self Esteem…For My Friends

One of the fascinating things about having a diverse group of friends is that many ask the same questions and face the same trials regardless of backgrounds or ideologies.  More than a few women that I knew in high school and as an undergraduate have been battling the aura of aging.  A few worry because at least one child seems inclined to learn things the hard way, and a few worry because even though another child appears to be headed on a positive path there are still pitfalls along the way.  For others, they have reached one of the so-called milestones which in the case of my peers is either the young three zero or the heck I’m four zero age.

Back in my single days, I could describe many of these women with either two or four words:  Gorgeous (Gore Just) or Beautiful (Be You Tea Full).  Thanks to social media, I get to communicate with some of my former classmates.  Since many married other classmates, the stories are in abundant supply with some shades of the truth which often downplay some of the bizarre and need I say stupid things we did way back when.

Truthfully, most of the guys are just bigger, slower, grayer, or in quite a few cases balder than they were years ago.  I’ll still win, but each of my guy friends is closing the gap if we competed in an ugly contest.  Perhaps the only shocking thing about us is that most either have the same personality but are in a profession one could not have imagined, or they are either more outgoing or shy but are in the profession one might have imagined years ago.

Of course many of the women from high school and undergrad school were the model type beauties back then.  The problem was that if a guy like me told them that, they wondered about the motive.  Today, however, in addition to the good looks, many of these women are highly skilled health care professionals, business leaders, entrepreneurs, farmers, teachers, home managers, problem solvers, and just plain ole success stories.

Sadly, we often neglect to say the obvious or forget to say a kind word.  At times we justify that omission because someone else is sure to have said it.  Not that long ago I thought I had “history professor disease” in that the personal events in my past which I thought were important or unforgettable at the time have often been the ones I have difficulty remembering.  On the other hand, the simple and mundane memories are the ones which stand out today and are most cherished.  I termed it “history professor disease” because anyone who has ever taken a research note tries to find some way to include every single note card or trivial bit even if inclusion necessitates an additional chapter.

Actually, an understanding of the simplest and most non discreet of events is not a bad affliction to develop when kept in the proper perspective.  Recognizing the importance, brilliance, and magnificence of the simple and mundane might an ailment we should all contract.  It might be an appreciation of the little things which make life special.  It just might be the realization that the prettiest of the pretty and most appealing attributes are not those we see, but are those within or those intangible qualities that we cannot quantify.

That’s what I tried to bring forth in this video created entirely with freeware.  Future installments will focus on other challenges and just items we take for granted.   The videos are really designed for children, but the messages will apply to us all.

I hope that my wife knows that she continues to become more beautiful.  That’s not easy because she did start out beautiful and being a political scientist, her manner of investigating issues sometimes conflicts with the methodology utilized by this political historian.  Still, that’s a distinction that only those in the disciplines can really appreciate.  To all the other girls from my teens and early 20s, keep in mind that your greatest beauty is inside and that your beauty makes the world just a bit more attractive for the rest of us.  Your kids are lucky to have fantastic mothers, and if I know your husband please tell him that if I can say something nice then he can as well.

